• MoMA PS1 / Greater New York 2021 Catalog

Greater New York 2021 Catalog

  • Text

"Knowledge and stories often do not enter into an official archive or history, and so they seem to disappear to some. We’re devoted to surfacing the ways in which they have not disappeared and how they can be brought back to life, like a resurrection process: research as resurrection."- Shanzhai Lyric

Greater New York artists Shanzhai Lyric, BlackMass Publishing, and Hiram Maristany sat down to discuss the importance of documentary and archival methods. It's just one of several roundtable conversations between artists in the exhibition, all of which are now available in the Greater New York catalogue, available for purchase through Artbook @ MoMA PS1.

The catalog is a sourcebook, reader, and document of Greater New York, which gathered an intergenerational and international group of 47 artists and collectives with deep ties to New York. Through images, artist writings, roundtable conversations, and oral histories, the catalog expands core thematic threads which run through the exhibition.

Artists include: Yuji Agematsu, Nadia Ayari, BlackMass Publishing, Diane Burns, Kristi Cavataro, Curtis Cuffie, Hadi Fallahpisheh, Rotimi Fani-Kayode, Raque Ford, Luis Frangella, Dolores Furtado, Julio Galán, Doreen Garner, Emilie Louise Gossiaux, Robin Graubard, Milford Graves, Bettina Grossman, Avijit Halder, Bill Hayden, Steffani Jemison, G. Peter Jemison, E’wao Kagoshima, Marie Karlberg, Matthew Langan-Peck, Las Nietas de Nonó, Athena LaTocha, Carolyn Lazard, Sean-Kierre Lyons, Hiram Maristany, Servane Mary, Rosemary Mayer, Alan Michelson, Ahmed Morsi, Nicolas Moufarrege, Marilyn Nance, Tammy Nguyen, Shelley Niro, Kayode Ojo, Paulina Peavy, Freya Powell, Raha Raissnia, Andy Robert, Diane Severin Nguyen, Shanzhai Lyric, Regina Vater, Stanley Wolukau-Wanambwa and Lachell Workman.

Edited by Ruba Katrib with Jody Graf. Introduction by Kate Fowle, Ruba Katrib, Inés Katzenstein, Moses Serubiri. Text by Yuji Agematsu, Diane Burns, Rotimi Fani-Kayode, Raque Ford, Robin Graubard, Steffani Jemison, E'wao Kagoshima, Marie Karlberg, Rosemary Mayer, Ahmed Morsi, Paulina Peavy.